NHS Education for Scotland Logo

Scotland Deanery

Home of medical and dental excellence

ATSM Directors

West of Scotland

Regional ATSM preceptors 2020-2021

In West of Scotland ATSMs can be offered across all seven hospitals and are overseen by the ATSM Director.

ATSM places are pre-specified and allocated for each unit in order to provide sufficient learning opportunities and ensure a high level of access for trainees. An ATSM meeting is held once a year to inform trainees of the options. Trainees can then express preferences and apply for ATSM places on their placement form which is filled out in January/February every year.

ATSM

Preceptor

Email

Hospitals where ATSM is offered

Acute gynaecology and early pregnancy

Lynne Thomson

Lynne.Thomson5@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

FVH, PRI, QEUH, RAH, Wishaw

Advanced laparoscopic surgery for the excision of benign disease

Not offered

n/a

 

Benign abdominal surgery: open and laparoscopic

Bob Hawthorn

Robert.Hawthorn@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Ayrshire, FVH, PRI, QUEH, RAH, Wishaw

Benign gynaecological surgery: hysteroscopy

Luai Khalifa

Luai.khalifa@nhs.scot

Ayrshire, Dumfries, FVH, PRI

Colposcopy

Suggest BSCCP

Will get preceptor if required

Ayrshire, Dumfries, FVH, PRI, QEUH, RAH, Wishaw

Medical Education

Evelyn Ferguson

Evelyn.Ferguson@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk

FVH, PRI, QEUH, Wishaw

Menopause

Heather Currie

Heather.Currie2@nhs.scot

PRI

Oncology

Oliver Milling Smith

omillingsmith@nhs.scot

FVH, PRI, Wishaw

Paediatric and adolescent gynaecology

Not offered

n/a

 

Sexual health

Audrey Brown

Audrey.Brown@nhs.scot

d/w ATSM director, specialist clinics at Sandyford

Subfertility and reproductive health

Helen Lyall

Helen.Lyall@nhs.scot

PRI

Urogynaecology and vaginal surgery

Karen Guerrero

Karen.Guerrero@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Ayrshire, FVH, PRO, QEUH, Wishaw

Vulval disease

Nadeem Siddiqui

Nadeem.Siddiqui@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

FVH, PRI

Advanced labour ward practice

Aileen Cope

Aileen.Cope@nhs.scot

FVH, PRI, QEUH, RAH, Wishaw

Fetal medicine

Marie-Anne Ledingham

Marieanne.ledingham@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

PRI, QEUH, Wishaw

High risk pregnancy

Aileen Cope

Aileen.Cope@nhs.scot

Ayrshire, FVH, PRI, QEUH, RAH, Wishaw

Labour ward lead

Janice Gibson

Janice.Gibson@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Ayrshire, FVH, PRI, QEUH, Wishaw

Obstetric medicine

Janet Brennand

Janet.Brennand@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Ayrshire, FVH, PRI, QEUH, Wishaw

ASM: Abortion Care

Audrey Brown

Audrey.Brown@nhs.scot

QEUH, RAH

APM: Clinical Research

Karen Guerrero

Karen.Guerrero@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Available to all trainees in ST3-ST7

 

East of Scotland

Regional ATSM preceptors 2020-2021

 

In East of Scotland, ATSMs are offered in Ninewells Hospital (see below). Trainees can register for ATSMs following discussion with and approval from the TPD and ATSM Director.

Subject to availability of suitable training opportunities, trainees’ preferences and requests can usually be accommodated.

 

ATSM

Preceptor

Email

Hospitals where ATSM is offered

Acute gynaecology and early pregnancy

Binta Pande

 

Ninewells

Advanced laparoscopic surgery for the excision of benign disease

Not offered

n/a

 

Benign abdominal surgery: open and laparoscopic

Refaat Youssef

 

Ninewells

Benign gynaecological surgery: hysteroscopy

Refaat Youssef

 

Ninewells

Colposcopy

Kalpana Ragupathy

 

Ninewells

Medical Education

Vanessa Kay/ Katy Orr

 

Ninewells

Menopause

Not offered

 

 

Oncology

Kalpana Ragupathy

 

Ninewells

Paediatric and adolescent gynaecology

Not offered

 

 

Sexual health

Not offered

 

 

Subfertility and reproductive health

Vanessa Kay

 

Ninewells

Urogynaecology and vaginal surgery

Zbig Tkacz

 

Ninewells

Vulval disease

Vimala Nellore

 

Ninewells

Advanced labour ward practice

A Nicoll/ Dr Lynch

 

Ninewells

Fetal medicine

A Nicoll

 

Ninewells

High risk pregnancy

Rebecca Northridge

 

Ninewells

Labour ward lead

P Lynch

 

Ninewells

Obstetric medicine

A Nicoll

 

Ninewells

ASM: Abortion Care

Pauline Lynch

 

Ninewells

APM: Clinical Research

Sarah Martin Da Silva

 

Ninewells

 

North of Scotland

Regional ATSM preceptors 2020-2021

 

In North of Scotland, all ATSMs are undertaken in Aberdeen.

ATSM choices and allocation are determined by interest expressed by trainees. Where there is limited capacity, trainee interest and aptitude are taken into account. Assessments are undertaken for some such as Fetal medicine to determine trainee suitability. The Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery is offered by competitive application which incorporates the whole of the Scottish Deanery.

 

ATSM

Preceptor

Email

Hospitals where ATSM is offered

Acute gynaecology and early pregnancy

Lucky Saraswat; Andrea Woolner

Lucky.saraswat@nhs.scot; andrea.woolner1@nhs.scot

Aberdeen

Advanced laparoscopic surgery for the excision of benign disease

Lucky Saraswat

Lucky.Saraswat@nhs.scot

Aberdeen

Benign abdominal surgery: open and laparoscopic

Kevin Cooper

Kevin.Cooper@nhs.scot

Aberdeen

Benign gynaecological surgery: hysteroscopy

Kevin Cooper

Kevin.Cooper@nhs.scot

Aberdeen

Colposcopy

Maha Gurumurthy

Mahalakshmi@Gurumurthy@nhs.scot

Aberdeen

Medical Education

Maggie Cruickshank

m.e.cruickshank@abdn.ac.uk

Aberdeen

Menopause

Christine Hemming

Christine.hemming@nhs.scot

Aberdeen

Oncology

Maha Gurumurthy

Mahalakshmi@Gurumurthy@nhs.scot

Aberdeen

Paediatric and adolescent gynaecology

Abha Maheshwari

Abha.maheshwari@abdn.ac.uk

Aberdeen

Sexual health

Sarah Wallage

Sarah.Wallage@nhs.scot

Aberdeen

Subfertility and reproductive health

Srisailesh Vitthala

Srisailesh.Vitthala@nhs.scot

Aberdeen

Urogynaecology and vaginal surgery

Kevin Cooper

Kevin.Cooper@nhs.scot

Aberdeen

Vulval disease

Sarah Wallage

Sarah.Wallage@nhs.scot

Aberdeen

Advanced labour ward practice

Tara Fairley; Priti Nagdeve

Tara.Fairley@nhs.scot; Priti.Nagdeve@nhs.scot

Aberdeen

Fetal medicine

Lena Crichton

Lena.Crichton@nhs.scot

Aberdeen

High risk pregnancy

Sharon Rajkumar

Sharon.Rajkumar@nhs.scot

Aberdeen

Labour ward lead

Tara Fairley

Tara.Fairley@nhs.scot

Aberdeen

Obstetric medicine

Katrina Shearer

Katrina.Shearer@nhs.scot

Aberdeen

ASM: Abortion Care

Not Offered

 

 

APM: Clinical Research

Not Offered

 

 

 

South East of Scotland

Regional ATSM preceptors 2020-2021

 

In South-East Scotland all ATSMs are offered across three sites (see table below) and are overseen by ATSM Director. There is an annual ‘ATSM Planning Day’ held in spring for trainees due to undertake ATSMs in the next training year to meet with ATSM Director and TPD to discuss their career intentions, and ATSM and training unit preferences. As far as possible and subject to availability of training opportunities, trainees’ preferences are accommodated. 

 

ATSM

Preceptor

Email

Hospitals where ATSM is offered

Acute gynaecology and early pregnancy

Colin Duncan; Karen Rose

w.c.duncan@ed.ac.uk; karen.rose@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

RIE, SJH, Fife

Advanced laparoscopic surgery for the excision of benign disease

Stuart Jack

Stuart.Jack@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

RIE

Benign abdominal surgery: open and laparoscopic

Karen Rose

Karen.Rose@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

RIE, SJH, Fife

Benign gynaecological surgery: hysteroscopy

Jonathan Chamberlain

Jonathan.Chamberlain@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

RIE, SJH, Fife

Colposcopy

Alison MacLeod

Alison.Macleod@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

RIE, SJH, Fife

Medical Education

Colin Duncan

w.c.duncan@ed.ac.uk

RIE, SJH

Menopause

Ellie Golightly

Ellen.Golightly@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

Chalmers

Oncology

Scott Fegan

Scott.Fegan@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

RIE, SJH, Fife

Paediatric and adolescent gynaecology

Shiona Coutts

Shiona.Coutts@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

RIE, SJH

Sexual health

Ellie Golightly

Ellen.Golihghtly@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

Chalmers

Subfertility and reproductive health

Maya Chetty

Maya.Chetty@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

RIE

Urogynaecology and vaginal surgery

Julia Wilkens

Julia.Wilkens@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

SJH

Vulval disease

Jacqui Laurie

Jacqui.S.Laurie@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

RIE, SJH, Fife

Advanced labour ward practice

Kirsty Dundas; Alastair Campbell

Kirsty.Dundas@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk; Alastair.Campbell@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

RIE, SJH, Fife

Fetal medicine

Sarah Cooper

Sarah.Cooper@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

RIE, Fife

High risk pregnancy

Hanan Mustafa

Hanan.Mustafa@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

RIE, SJH, Fife

Labour ward lead

Emma Doubal

Emma.Doubal@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

RIE, SJH, Fife

Obstetric medicine

Claire Alexander

Claire.Alexander@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

RIE, SJH, Fife

ASM: Abortion Care

Sharon Cameron

Sharon.T.Cameron@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

Chalmers

APM: Clinical Research

Colin Duncan

w.c.dunacn@ed.ac.uk

All units

 

 

 

Dr Aileen Cope

Dr Aileen Cope

ATSM Director

West of Scotland

Email »

Dr Kalpana Ragupathy

Dr Kalpana Ragupathy

ATSM Director

East of Scotland

Email »

Dr Gail Littlewood

Dr Gail Littlewood

ATSM Director

North of Scotland

Email »

Dr Shiona Coutts

Dr Shiona Coutts

ATSM Director

South East of Scotland

Email »



This page was last updated on: 17.11.2021 at 13.48


Top