NHS Education for Scotland Logo

Scotland Deanery

Home of Medical and Dental Excellence

About Us

Training Programme Directors

These are clinicians on the ground with an oversight of their training programmes and who also manage the rotations.

Training Programme Directors (TPD) and Foundation Programme Directors (FPD) are consultants or general Practitioners appointed to report directly to the Postgraduate Dean or appropriate Deanery representatives.

Each TPD/FPD actively participates in providing direct advice on specialty training programmes by representation on the NES Specialty Training or Foundation Programme Board.

TPD/FPDs are responsible for provide advice, support and management of the Specialty Training Programmes within their NES Region and across the Scotland Deanery.


For further information on the TPD/FPD role, and how to manage Speciality, Foundation and GP Training please see the Programme Director HandBook

This page was last updated on: 04.09.2019 at 08.29