NHS Education for Scotland Logo

Scotland Deanery

Home of Medical and Dental Excellence

About Us

Directors of Medical Education

Responsible for maintaining and developing high quality medical education and training within their NHS Board.

Directors of Medical Education (DMEs) are consultants or doctors appointed to NHS Boards.  Each DME works in close collaboration with the Postgraduate Deans.

DME's are responsible for ensuring that trainers and trainees employed by their NHS Board are fit to practice.

Each DME ensures that their NHS Board delivers the high standards of postgraduate medical education required by NES and the General Medical Council.

Health Board Name Email
Ayrshire & Arran Hugh Neill hugh.neill@aaaht.scot.nhs.uk
Borders Olive Herlihy olive.herlihy@borders.scot.nhs.uk
Dumfries & Galloway Dr Pete Armstrong peter.armstrong@nhs.net
Fife Morwenna Wood Fife-UHB.MedicalEducation@nhs.net
Forth Valley Kate Patrick  kate.patrick@nhs.net
Golden Jubilee National Hospital Alan Kirk alan.kirk@gjnh.scot.nhs.uk
Grampian  Kim Milne nhsg.medicaleducationteam@nhs.net  kimmilne@nhs.net
Greater Glasgow & Clyde Dr Lindsay Donaldson lindsay.donaldson@nhs.net
   
Highland Helen Freeman  hfreeman@nhs.net
Lanarkshire Dr Ian Hunter ian.hunter-DME@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk
Lothian Dr Simon Edgar Jennifer.Gierz@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk
Orkney Helen Freeman  hfreeman@nhs.net
Shetland Pauline Wilson  paulinewilson@nhs.net
   
Tayside John Davidson john.davidson2@nhs.net
   
Western Isles Antima Banerjee  antima.banerjee@nhs.net
   

Contacts up to date as at 04.11.2019.


Top