NHS Education for Scotland Logo

Scotland Deanery

Home of Medical and Dental Excellence

About Us

Directors of Medical Education

Responsible for maintaining and developing high quality medical education and training within their NHS Board.

Directors of Medical Education (DMEs) are consultants or doctors appointed to NHS Boards.  Each DME works in close collaboration with the Postgraduate Deans.

DME's are responsible for ensuring that trainers and trainees employed by their NHS Board are fit to practice.

Each DME ensures that their NHS Board delivers the high standards of postgraduate medical education required by NES and the General Medical Council.

Health Board Name Email
Ayrshire & Arran Hugh Neill Hugh.Neill@aapct.scot.nhs.uk
Borders Olive Herlihy olive.herlihy@borders.scot.nhs.uk
Dumfries & Galloway Dr Pete Armstrong peter.armstrong@nhs.scot
Fife Morwenna Wood morwenna.wood@nhs.scot
Forth Valley Kate Patrick  kate.patrick@nhs.scot
Golden Jubilee National Hospital Alan Kirk alan.kirk@gjnh.scot.nhs.uk
Grampian  Kim Milne kim.milne@nhs.scot
Greater Glasgow & Clyde Dr Lindsay Donaldson Lindsay.Donaldson@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Highland Helen Freeman  Helen.Freeman@nhs.scot
Lanarkshire Dr Ian Hunter ian.hunter-DME@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk
Lothian Dr Simon Edgar simon.edgar@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk
Orkney Helen Freeman  hfreeman@nhs.net
Shetland Pauline Wilson  Pauline.Wilson2@nhs.scot
Tayside John Davidson john.davidson2@nhs.scot
Western Isles Dr Frank McAuley francis.mcauley@nhs.scot

 

This page was last updated on: 20.01.2021 at 17.02


Top