NHS Education for Scotland Logo

Scotland Deanery

Home of medical and dental excellence

Welcome Home

If you were formerly on an NHS Performers List and wish to find out more about returning to general practice in Scotland, this website provides a range of useful information:

 


 

Are you missing Scotland? Are you contemplating returning? Now is a good time – coming back to General Practice in Scotland couldn’t be easier!

Scotland needs its trained GPs back. With the development of a new GMC contract underway, more investment in General Practice, access to the NHS pension scheme and a health service that is arguably one of the best in the world, there is much to commend working as a General Practitioner in Scotland right now. Why not come back to enjoy our four seasons of weather (sometimes in one day), our diversity of culture and proximity to the rest of the world. Scotland is more than ever a wonderful place to live and work.

Depending on your personal circumstances, you may need nothing more than a simple, 2-4 week induction programme, managed by the Health Board whose Performers’ List you choose to join in co-operation with the Scotland Deanery. So no entry assessments, no additional costs when you can least afford it and no lengthy waits to get back into a substantive post.

If you have worked in NHS General Practice before and are currently working in a clinical post comparable to General Practice in the UK (for example in Australia, New Zealand or Canada).

  • Your first step is to make contact with the Health Board Performers’ List in the area to which you intend to return. Below is the list (accurate as of 19th August 2019) of whom you should contact.
  • Your application will be considered by the Health Board Medical Director who will decide whether it would be appropriate to include you immediately on the Performers’ List provided you complete a short practice-based induction or whether you will be required to successfully complete the Scotland GP Returner Programme.
  • The Medical Director will reach this decision as soon as possible in consultation with the NES GP Associate Advisor.

Area contacts for performers list 

Ayrshire & Arran Karen Foote Karien.Foote@aapct.scot.nhs.uk 
Dumfries & Galloway Shiona Burns  dg.pcd@nhs.scot
Fife Linda Neave Linda.Neave@nhs.scot
Forth Valley Kirsty Blair kirsty.blair@nhs.scot
Grampian Debbie Gordon gram.primarycarecontracts@nhs.scot
Greater Glasgow & Clyde   Sandra Hendren   gp.pcs@ggc.scot.nhs.uk 

Highland (North)

Highland (A&B)

Claire Piper

Elizabeth Hutcheson

claire.piper@nhs.scot

elizabeth.hutcheson@nhs.scot

Lanarkshire Lee Ann Tannock Lea.Tannock@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk 
Lothian & Borders Danielle Swanson Danielle.Swanson@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk
Orkney  Arlene Tait  arlene.tait@nhs.scot
Shetland  Maureen Stewart   maureen.stewart4@nhs.scot
Tayside Clodagh Wright  clodagh.wright@nhs.scot
Western Isles   chrisann.mackenzie@nhs.scot

Contact us for advice

For further information please look at our FAQs.
If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us at:

gpcareersadvice@nes.scot.nhs.uk

This page was last updated on: 30.04.2021 at 12.49


Top