NHS Education for Scotland Logo

Scotland Deanery

Home of medical and dental excellence

Deliberate Practice

Incentivised Laparoscopy Practice (ILPs)

Year 1

At boot camp, trainees will be instructed and issued with an EOSim to allow for practice of laparoscopy motor skills out with the OR. Online modules are provided and trainees are required to upload videos for each of the six modules which will be scored by OSATS (objective structured assessment of technical skills).

Trainees can practise alone, in skills clubs or in meetings with Educational Supervisors. 

There is also the option to include advanced modules, competing for gold, silver and bronze awards.

Year 2

You can also request to keep this in year two if you are still to complete your laparoscopic rotation at that point.


VA Simulation

Year 1

If you are not aiming for a laparoscopic career, we will send you a VaSim kit. These allow practice of vascular anastomosis on 3D-printed hydrogel models (a task relevant to all subspecialties). These will be yours to keep, there is no need to hand these back at the end of your training. We are currently working on a programme to support practice with these.

Year 2

We will send you a VaSim kit around November/December time.


Local Skills Clubs (Years 1 and 2)

It’s been great to see skills clubs flourishing in about half of our training hospitals now. We now have a group to support this movement, chaired by Vivienne Blackhall. A typical model is regular one-hour skills practice sessions, using eoSims, dry open surgical models and other kit from the skills club boxes we sent out. Often trainee-led but consultant supported. These can perhaps be alternated with journal clubs and CPD clubs. The group will be working on a syllabus of suggested tasks. A range of consumables including suture supplies can be ordered from us at no charge, by e-mailing cstsimulation@nes.scot.nhs.uk.

Current skills clubs and contacts:

  • Ayrshire - Myo Khine and Gillian Miller
  • Wishaw - Alistair Murray / Henrietta Stockdale
  • Hairmyres - Brian Stewart
  • Monklands - Michael Dick
  • Aberdeen - Ahmed Nassar / Dujanah Bhatti
  • QEUH - Pedro Cunha
  • GRI Royal Infirmary of Edin - Fiona Griffin
  • Western General Edin - Kirsty Mozolowski
  • St John’s Livingston - Wei Hei Chan
  • Inverness - Ken Walker
  • Shetland - Rory McFadyen
  • Paisley RAH - Viv Blackhall
  • Fife-  Leo Brown
  • FVRH - Alistair Geraghty
  • Ninewells - Majid Rashid

This page was last updated on: 16.04.2024 at 08.32