NHS Education for Scotland Logo

Scotland Deanery

Home of medical and dental excellence


Meet the team

Deanery staff


Our Dental Postgraduate and Associate Postgraduate Dean provide practical knowledge, experience and accountability for postgraduate dental training throughout Scotland. 

The day to day management of training programmes, including their quality management, rests with the postgraduate Deans who are accountable to NES.


Dean of Postgraduate Dental Education

Dean of Postgraduate Dental Education    Dr David Felix        Email: david.felix@nhs.scot

Associate Dean of Postgraduate Dental Education

    Dr Donald Thomson      Email: donald.thomson@nhs.scot


Associate Dean of Postgraduate Dental Education

    Dr Ailsa Morrison      Email: Ailsa.Morrison@nhs.scot



For trainee enquiries, please contact:

Core Training

Email: dentalcoretraining@nes.scot.nhs.uk


Specialty Training

Email: dentalspecialtytraining@nes.scot.nhs.uk


Study Leave

Email: dentalstudyleave@nes.scot.nhs.uk

Programme Leads


Specialty Training Programme Directors

These are clinicians on the ground with an oversight of their training programmes. Training Programme Directors (TPD) report directly to the Postgraduate Dean or appropriate Deanery representative to provide direct advice on specialty training programmes.

Dental and Maxillofacial Radiology

Dr Kirstyn Donaldson
Dental Public Health

Dr Morag Muir

Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology

Dr Sharon White

Oral Medicine

Dr Jennifer Taylor

Oral Surgery

East: Dr Stephanie Sammut

South East: Dr Laura Bryce

West: Prof Aileen Bell  


East: Dr Alison Cord

South-East: Prof David Bearn

West: Dr Laura Short

Paediatric Dentistry

East: Dr Alex Keightley (Acting)

South-East: Dr Alex Keightley

West: Dr Jill Phillips   

Restorative Dentistry

East: Dr Andrew Pye

South-East: Dr Adrian Pace-Balzan

West: Dr Lynnsey Crane

Special Care Dentistry


Dr Helen Patterson



Dental Centres

Information about our dental centres is available on our corporate website.

This page was last updated on: 06.05.2024 at 10.17