NHS Education for Scotland Logo

Scotland Deanery

Home of medical and dental excellence

International Medical Graduates (IMGs)

Additional information and resources

Sources of information you may find useful, these guides have been created as resources for people working in health boards to assist them with accommodation queries and maybe specific to the hospital location or area. Please see the links below for further information. 

Links to the NHS International Recruitment Tool Kit - which is an interactive guide to encourage and enable good practice in the NHS

HMO Properties for International Recruited Healthcare Professionals

Step by Step Guide to Renting in Scotland - NHS Scotland Rental Guide

Accommodation Resources Guide 

Welcome to NHS Lanarkshire Booklet 

 

Below is a link to a collection of National (UK) resources

NHS Induction Programme for International Medical Graduates - elearning for healthcare (e-lfh.org.uk)

A list of nominated contacts to support new IMG within the boards. 

Health Board

Contact

Department

Email address

Ayrshire & Arran

Hugh Neill

Anaesthesia & Intensive Care

Hugh.neill@aapct.scot.nhs.uk

Borders

Srihari Vallabhajousula 

Surgery 

Srihari.Vallabhajousula@nhs.scot

Dumfries & Galloway

Anne-Marie Coxon

Nadeeka Rathnamalala

Medicine

Renal

Anne-marie.coxon@nhs.scot

Nadeeka.rathnamalala@nhs.scot

Western Isles

Neil Maclean

Caroline Ross

Obs/Gyn

Med. Ed.

neil.maclean@nhs.scot

caroline.ross7@nhs.scot or wi.csa@nhs.scot

Fife

Babar Akbar

Kimberley Steel

General Practice

Palliative Medicine

Syedmbabar.akbar@nhs.scot

Kimberley.steel@nhs.scot

fife.medicaleducation@nhs.scot

Forth Valley

Alison Mackenzie

Medicine

fv.postgraduatemedicaleducation@nhs.scot

Grampian

Kim Milne

Marion Slater

Roby Rajan

Acute Medicine

Geriatrics

Endocrinology

Kim.milne@nhs.scot

Marion.slater2@nhs.scot

Roby.rajan@nhs.scot

Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Adnan Tariq

Andy Mackay

Ihab Shaheen

Endocrinology

Critical Care

Paediatrics

Adnan.tariq4@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Andy.mackay@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Ihab.shaheen@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

ggc.imgteam@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Golden Jubilee 

Fahd Mahmood 

Orthopaedics

fahd.mahmood3@gjnh.scot.nhs.uk

Highland

Satinder Bal

Suddhajit Sen

Medicine

Orthopaedics

nhshighland.medicaleducation@nhs.scot

Suddhajit.sen@nhs.scot

Lanarkshire

Farhat Mushtaq H

Laura McGregor

Sumaiya Cassim

Hairmyres

Monklands

Wishaw

Farhat.mushtaq@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk

Laura.mcgregor@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk

Sumaiya.cassim@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk

Lothian

Goran Zangana

Ishwinder Thethy

Acute Medicine

Acute Medicine

Goran.zangana@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

Ishwinder.thethy@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

Orkney

Huw Thomas

 General Practice 

huw.thomas5@nhs.scot

Shetland

Pauline Wilson

Medicine

shetmededadmin@nhs.scot

Tayside

Achyut Valluri

Acute Medicine

Achyut.valluri2@nhs.scot

Are you new to UK practice or is this your first post in a Scottish Hospital (NHS Scotland)?

These are currently available in the following health boards - Lothian, Tayside, Greater Glasgow and Clyde and Forth Valley.  

Simulation courses, to help IMGs with some of the challenges they might experience if new to practicing in the UK.  Not assessed. Purely a learning experience in a safe environment.

You may have already been approached to attend.  If not, and you think this might be beneficial, please contact the following:

 Health Board                          Contact Details 
 NHS Lothian  goran.zangana@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk
 NHS Tayside  achyut.valluri2@nhs.scot
 NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde  mark.ullrich@ggc.scot.nhs.uk or kirsty.barnes4@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
 NHS Forth Valley   fv.scschf@nhs.scot

The following websites have been identified as being of particular use to IMG doctors who are preparing to begin work in Scotland.

Scotland Deanery

Scottish Medical Training

Do Not Attempt Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (DNACPR) - integrated adult policy: guidance - gov.scot (www.gov.scot)

The names given to different grades of doctors, nurses and other healthcare professionals in the UK may differ from what you are used to. Doctors in training or trainee refers to doctors who are in clinical training. They have completed a medical degree and could have up to eight years' experience working as a hospital doctor, or up to three years in General Practice. All doctors in training work under the supervision of a senior doctor. This could be a Hospital Consultant, GP (general practitioner) or SAS (staff grade, associate specialist and specialty) doctor, depending on specialty and location. Doctors who perform surgery may, due to historical reasons, use the titles 'Mr', 'Mrs', 'Miss' or 'Ms' instead. A doctor that is a university professor may also use the title ‘Professor’ instead of 'Dr'. 

Titles of Doctor in Training

Description 

FY1 

Foundation year one junior doctor  

FY2 

Foundation year two junior doctor 

IMT 

Internal Medicine Trainee 

CST 

Core Surgical Trainee 

SHO 

Senior house officer (old fashioned term for grades between FY2 and ST). The use of this term should be discouraged. The Deanery and Service Leads do not support the use of this term as it creates uncertainty about the level of experience and competence of an individual doctor which can confuse staff and colleagues.  

GPST 

General Practice Specialty Trainee 

ST                                                        

Specialty Trainee who is a doctor in training in a hospital specialty – the term can be associated with a number which signifies the amount of years spent in training in the specialty, e.g. ST4 psychiatry 

 

Other members of the MDT (Multi-disciplinary Team) 

Description 

Nurse 

Nurses in the UK have a degree in nursing and work in either adult, children, mental health, or learning disability care 

Ward Sister/Charge Nurse 

A charge nurse is a nurse who is 'in charge' of a ward in the hospital or other healthcare facility where they work. These nurses perform many of the tasks that general nurses do, but also have some supervisory and managerial responsibilities 

Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) 

CNSs have specialist knowledge of a particular area of nursing e.g. cancer, diabetes, and palliative care  

Healthcare Care Assistant (HCA) 

HCAs work closely with patients to ensure their comfort and safety under the direction of a qualified professional (usually a nurse). They help patients with personal care including infection prevention and control, food, and personal hygiene  

Physiotherapist (PT) 

Physiotherapists help patients recover from injury, illness, and surgery through physical rehabilitation 

Occupational Therapist (OT) 

OTs consider all of a patient's needs - physical, psychological, social and environmental. They can help people overcome the effects of disability caused by illness, ageing or accident so that they can carry out everyday tasks or occupations 

 

Roles and Responsibilities Checklist

Click here for the roles and responsibilities checklist.

Current News Articles (June 2023) : 

A King's Fund study showed that that the UK has strikingly low levels of key clinical staff, including doctors and nurses, compared to 19 other countries that were included in the study. The study also found that the UK is heavily reliant on foreign-trained staff. Remuneration for some clinical groups appears to be less competitive in the UK than in peer countries.

Source: How does the NHS compare to the health care systems of other countries (kingsfund.org.uk)y

 

Recently Published Articles of Interest

 

Al-Haddad, M, Jamieson, S, Germeni, E. International medical graduates' experiences before and after migration: A meta-ethnography of qualitative studies. Med Educ. 2022; 56(5): 504-515. doi:10.1111/medu.14708

Al-Haddad, M.  Facilitating international medical graduates' acculturation: From theory to practiceMed Educ.  20231-13. doi:10.1111/medu.15175

Al-Haddad M, Mulholland C, Gardner J. Burnout in International Medical Graduate Trainees in the United Kingdom Compared to Domestic Medical Graduate Trainees. Analysis of Data from the GMC's National Training Survey in 2019 and 2021. Perspect Med Educ. 2023 Jun 15;12(1):228-236. doi: 10.5334/pme.1036 PMID: 37334110; PMCID: PMC10275157.

 

This page was last updated on: 16.05.2024 at 09.16


Top