NHS Education for Scotland Logo

Scotland Deanery

Home of Medical and Dental Excellence

News

GP Clinical Academic Fellowships

Clinical Academic Fellowship

Applications are now open for NES Clinical Academic Fellowships (closing date 19th April 2021) https://my.corehr.com/pls/uogrecruit/erq_jobspec_version_4.display_form

These innovative posts provide flexible and tailored academic training opportunities for GPs interested in developing their research skills and experience. We offer protected academic time in any of the five Scottish medical schools. You can choose to have between two and four academic days employed by the university, and organise your own clinical work in the rest of the week. We welcome applications from people interested in clinical or educational research, but the focus of these jobs is research rather than teaching delivery. Appointments are made in a single national round of interviews that all universities participate in, and we strongly encourage you to contact us to discuss your application.

Eligible applicants must obtain their CCT in 2021 or to be within three years of CCT (full time equivalent – allowances are made for personal circumstances and part-time working).

Aberdeen – Prof Peter Murchie p.murchie@abdn.ac.uk (web https://www.abdn.ac.uk/iahs/research/primary-care/index.php)

Dundee – Dr Dan Morales d.r.z.morales@dundee.ac.uk or Professor Blair Smith b.h.smith@dundee.ac.uk (web https://www.dundee.ac.uk/medicine/research/population-health-genomics/)

Edinburgh – Prof David Weller david.weller@ed.ac.uk or Prof Bruce Guthrie bruce.guthrie@ed.ac.uk (web https://www.ed.ac.uk/usher/primary-care-multimorbidity and https://www.ed.ac.uk/usher/our-centres/population-health-sciences and https://www.ed.ac.uk/usher/research/projects and www.edin.care)

Glasgow – Prof Frances Mair Frances.Mair@glasgow.ac.uk (web https://www.gla.ac.uk/researchinstitutes/healthwellbeing/research/generalpractice/#welcome)

St Andrews – Prof Frank Sullivan fms20@st-Andrews.ac.uk (web http://med.st-andrews.ac.uk/pbs/research/#Primary_care)


Return to all news & events

Top