NHS Education for Scotland Logo

Scotland Deanery

Home of medical and dental excellence


11th Annual NES Medical Directorate Awards

Award for Innovative Education and Technology

Winner                                 Dr David Varghese

Clinical Fellow in Transplant & Mechanical Circulatory Support, Golden Jubilee National Hospital

Runner up                           Professor Cindy Chew

Director of Imaging & Anatomy, University of Glasgow. Consultant Radiologist, University Hospital Hairmyres        

Award for Exceptional Staff Support

Joint Winners                     Marion Mackay

Service Manager, Medical Education Directorate, NHS Lothian

Angela Haining

Care of the elderly secretary and undergraduate teaching coordinator, Edinburgh 

Runner Up                          Philip Smith

                                                SAS Programme Officer, NES 

Inspirational Role Model

Winner                                 Professor Morwenna Wood

                                                DME NHS Fife

Joint Runners up                   Dr Wendy Corstorphine

Hospital lead for medical education, NHS Orkney

Dr Dean O’Dwyer

Clinical Development Fellow, NHS Shetland

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

Winner                                Lothian MED Fellows

Runner up                           Dr Katie Brown & Dr Lynsay Crawford

Clinical University Lecturer and Senior Clinical University Lecturer, university of glasgow


The awards presentation can be accessed here: Medical Directorate Awards 2024


Kind Regards,

Professor Alan R Denison

Dean of Postgraduate Medicine and Chair of the Awards Panel



Return to all news & events